August Already?

I really can’t believe how fast this summer has been. I mean, I probably say that every summer but living away from home has definitely made it seem quicker, actually. This week in the office was productive to say the least. As you may know by now, I am responsible for the daily news document to complete every morning, which takes up about half my morning. All of the interns also got another chance to be in the studio this week and speak up about our own perceptions about having T1D. We got asked a few questions as a prompt and I thought my answers really gave a good insight about how I and many others feel about T1D and the misconceptions that a lot of people still have. Next week, JDRF is having a photo shoot for the therapeutic department and we needed props for it. So on top of bringing in my own items like syringes, lancets, even my back up insulin pump, I was asked to contact a pharmaceutical company to try and get our hands on their new product to use in the photo shoot as well. I also helped with getting another JDRF Ride to Cure materials together, and wrote a new pitch letter to send out to Fairfield, Connecticut media outlets that I found, in the hopes to cover an inspiring story about two young boys who have T1D.

This week was definitely the hottest of the whole summer so far, with temperatures just over 90 degrees everyday. The subway is basically a sauna and I take 2 showers a day, on average. On the other hand, my NYC adventures do continue. Monday I was still pretty exhausted from the lack of sleep I got last weekend so after work I went right back to my dorm and ordered free delivery, pizza! Ever hear of the new expression, “there’s an app for that”? Well, it is true. This app, Seamless is a food delivery service, which most deliveries are either free or just a $1. They have a huge list of carry-outs and restaurants to choose from that are within reason of your location. I found this wood-fired pizza place and put in an order. It had an estimated delivery time of 45 minutes to an hour, but it probably took me longer to find a restaurant than how long it took the delivery guy to arrive at my dorm, surprisingly.

In other news, my search for local photographers to tag along with through the city hasn’t stopped. A few weeks ago, I made a list of about 30 people’s Instagram’s who I recently followed since moving here, that show off their amazing NYC photos and explorations. Most of them, had their contact information in their bio, so I reached out to quite a few of them, asking if I could join them on a tour of the city as they go to these somewhat exclusive spots around town. I had a few people get back to me, one of which I had met up with last week in Dumbo, Brooklyn. On Wednesday after my last weekly lobster roll special in Madison Square Park, I met another local photographer that lives and goes to school in Brooklyn. We started at Washington Square Park, which is just a few subway stops from my dorm and walked through Greenwich Village, Soho, and all throughout Chinatown until sunset. He thought my shoes were “rad” so he wanted a few shots from a residential rooftop we got up to in Chinatown. Here’s his post from Instagram:

IMG_0936

I think all of his pictures are amazing, and after hearing from him about how he is just trying to pursue his dream of being a photographer I wished the best of luck to him.

After work today as I mentioned in my last post, Logan and I are taking a trip up to Connecticut to visit my Aunt and Uncle. We’re excited to sail out into the ocean and hopefully catch some fish! We’re riding the train from Grand Central to Waterbury, Connecticut where they and my grandparents live, also where my dad grew up.

Sadly, I only have two more work weeks here and I’m still trying to make the most of it! Tomorrow is my sister, Allison’s 22nd birthday and she is currently half way across the world in South Africa pursuing her dreams of becoming a teacher. She also started a blog of her adventures, some of which I am even jealous of! If you want to see what she’s been up to, check it out: https://askallie93.wordpress.com/

That’s all for today, and once again thank you for following, stay tuned, blah blah you get it by now.

-Tyler

One comment

  1. Evan Kramer · July 31, 2015

    Excellent!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

