7/17

Good Morning!

As I explained in my last post, the Children’s Congress was this week and many people from the office attended so it was a little slow for myself. Monday and Tuesday I didn’t have too much to do in the office, other than the daily News You Can Use document that I complete in the morning. As you may know by now, I have a big list of things I want to do while I’m here, and half of the list consists of restaurants to go to. So Tuesday for dinner I went to Jack Wife’s Freda. It was mentioned on a website about things to do in NY as a top place to eat, for a reasonable price. There was a location in SoHo, so I went after work and had matzo ball soup and a pasta dish. It was really good, and it was a really nice place, small but pretty hip I’d say. I’d say my mom’s matzo ball soup is better though. Wednesday someone in the Mar/Com department asked for some of my help in my free time to get the Burlington, VA Ride to Cure Diabetes ready to go for next week. There are about 300 riders and each of them are given a welcome packet with 4 documents, and a name-tag. I was happy to help put all the documents in the folders, and label them. So that took up basically my whole day from stuffing these packets and labeling them with stickers of their name and t-shirt size. I knew it was very important for this ride and I guess that’s what interns are for, am I right? After work, I heard that another one of my favorite artists, G-Eazy was in town but he doesn’t have a show booked or anything so I was wondering why he was here. He had posted that he was shopping in SoHo, so on my way home I had to stop by and walk around to see if I could spot him. Unfortunately, I probably missed him.

Every Wednesday this summer in Madison Square Park, right near my dorm there are free concerts by local, upcoming artists so I always stop by. There’s also a lobster roll stand every week, which I am now a regular. In other news, I keep having these maintenance issues in my dorm room. One of the first weeks I was here my sink was clogged, so in order to request a maintenance worker to fix something we submit a request online. I did that and it was taken care of. About 2 weeks ago, my shower drain was clogged, so when I showered in the morning the shower would fill up with water and it flooded my bathroom one morning, which was not pleasant. When the maintenance guy came to fix it, he pulled out so much hair from the drain, I thought there was a monster living there. I’ve never seen so much hair in a drain in my life, even at home from my sister. He was laughing because he knew it wasn’t mine, and he said there must have been another girl living in this room the past semester. Anyway, that was gross but now it’s fixed. Now, the AC unit in my window is leaking water. I noticed a little water on the window sill last week, and didn’t think it was a big deal so I wiped it up. On Tuesday, I woke up and stepped in a puddle that was made from all the water leaking. It was all under my bed and around my refrigerator. I called and this same guy came to replace the filter which he said was causing the leakage. He came with a mop and mopped it up for me too. Now, yesterday morning I woke up and saw the puddle was there again. I don’t know what I can do about this but hopefully that’s why the maintenance guys are here.

On the other hand, yesterday I had tickets to see Seth Meyers that I had reserved one of the first weeks I was here. Unfortunately, I woke up and my blood sugar was really high after I had changed my insulin pump. I came into work until about noon, and wasn’t feeling well so I had to take the rest of the day off and try to lower my blood sugar. I basically slept the whole day and didn’t end up going to see Seth Meyers, oh well.

Today my supervisor is back in the office as he came back from D.C. for the Children’s Congress. He told me about it, and how wonderful it was and how all the things that I had been working on for it really helped him this week. Now that the Congress is over, I should be starting on new projects for the rest of the summer, or the next 4 weeks I should say.. I don’t have too many plans for this weekend, other than my mom is coming to visit on Sunday! She’ll be here for the week on business of her own, in which she actually has a meeting with JDRF in my office next week, what a coincidence. Try not to embarrass me 😉

As always, thank you for following me and stay tuned for more posts!

-Tyler

Leave a Reply

