First week at JDRF

As my first week at JDRF is coming to an end, I think to myself I couldn’t be more grateful to have this opportunity to be working here this summer. Although my first couple days in the office were slow, mainly because my supervisor just happens to be on vacation in Bermuda, I can’t wait for things to speed up. All I’m hearing about from my colleagues is how wonderful he is, so I can’t wait to officially meet him next Monday.

My first two days mostly consisted of meeting everyone in the office, on my floor (14th) and the floor above. I have been introduced to many people around the office and as they ask what my responsibilities are going to be this summer, I explain in short detail what my plans are, and again hearing from everyone how great my supervisor is and how lucky we are to have him. I started on my first tasks which included developing a media list, however I can’t go into much detail. Although I’ve never been a coffee drinker, one of the other interns Logan, also now a close friend introduced me to mixing hot chocolate with the coffee, and now I can’t seem to stop binge drinking at the office.

On Wednesday, we had the pleasant opportunity to meet with our CEO Derek Rapp and Nicole Johnson to discuss our plans for this summer. Not everyday you get to personally sit down and talk with your company’s CEO and not even talk business, but personal/diabetes related experiences. Mr. Rapp’s son, Turner is also a fellow T1D and is currently working at Novo Nordisk this summer. We all got to share a short blurb about ourselves, where we come from, how we landed this competitive internship and what our future holds for each of us. Talking with Derek, as he prefers to be called, we didn’t feel as if he was our CEO but rather, a dad of an adolescent T1D. We shared stories of the daily struggles of dealing with diabetes, but also talked about all of the opportunities we have been fortunate to come across because of it. He was so incredibly passionate about his work and shared important advice with us about showing people that you care, and overall overcoming these daily obstacles that T1D’s deal with. I look forward to meeting more of the employees here at JDRF and am excited to dive into real projects in the upcoming weeks.

Check out the pictures I uploaded from my first week of living in New York City and stay tuned for more of my adventurous intern life here at JDRF International!

SWD 2015 Interns @ JDRF along with former Miss America & SWD founder, Nicole Johnson

SWD 2015 Interns @ JDRF along with former Miss America & SWD founder, Nicole Johnson

The famous Bull in the heart of the Financial District is right outside the JDRF offices on 26 Broadway

The famous Bull in the heart of the Financial District is right outside the JDRF offices on 26 Broadway

Top of the Empire State Building over looking Manhattan.

Top of the Empire State Building over looking Manhattan.

Strawberry Fields - Central Park

Strawberry Fields – Central Park

Grand Central Station

Grand Central Station

Leave a Reply

